Pride and Prejudice: A Chain of Quotations

“It is a truth universally acknowledged that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife

♥♥♥

“She is tolerable, but not handsome enough to tempt me” 

♥♥♥

“I remember the time when I liked a red coat myself very well — and, indeed, so I do still at my heart”

♥♥♥

“No, indeed. I do not wish to avoid the walk. The distance is nothing when one has a motive; only three miles.”

♥♥♥

“I am afraid, Mr. Darcy,” observed Miss Bingley, in a half-whisper, “that this adventure has rather affected your admiration of her fine eyes.”

“Not at all,” he replied; “they were brightened by the exercise.”

♥♥♥

“Oh! certainly,” cried his faithful assistant, “no one can be really esteemed accomplished who does not greatly surpass what is usually met with.  A woman must have a thorough knowledge of music, singing, drawing, dancing, all the modern languages, to deserve the word; and besides all this, she must possess a certain something in her air and manner of walking, the tone of her voice, her address and expressions, or the word will be but half deserved.”

“All this she must possess,” added Darcy, “and to all this she must yet add something more substantial, in the improvement of her mind by extensive reading.”

“I am no longer surprised at your knowing only six accomplished women. I rather wonder now at your knowing any.”

♥♥♥

“Do not consider me now as an elegant female intending to plague you, but as a rational creature speaking the truth from her heart.”

♥♥♥

“What are men to rocks and mountains?

♥♥♥

“It was a large, handsome, stone building, standing well on rising ground, and backed by a ridge of high woody hills; — and in front, a stream of some natural importance was swelled into greater, but without any artificial appearance. Its banks were neither formal, nor falsely adorned. Elizabeth was delighted….and at that moment she felt that to be mistress of Pemberley might be something!

♥♥♥

Her heart did whisper that he had done it for her.”

♥♥♥

 “Ten thousand a year! Oh, Lord!”

♥♥♥

I cannot fix on the hour, or the spot, or the look or the words, which laid the foundation. It is too long ago. I was in the middle before I knew that I had begun.

 

Quotations from Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen, with bolding added
Image: C.E. Brock/Pemberley.com

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

