Top Ten Tuesday: Favourite Book Blogs & Websites

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly post created by The Broke and the Bookish in 2010 and since 2018, hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl.

top ten tuesday

¹ The Toast

American anthology, humour, and feminist writing website. This website has some of the funniest and sharpest content  I’ve ever come across, including my personal favourite series: Two Monks Inventing Things. Sadly no longer active.

 

² Granta

If you’re looking for well-written literary short stories, essays, and poetry- this is the place to go. I’ve read a few extremely memorable pieces of fiction, including this story which imagines the fictional love life of a young Vladimir Putin.

 

³ Cuddlebuggery

I first came across this blog after I read some hilarious reviews of the Twilight series on Goodreads, and followed the links back to the author’s blog. I love this review of Midnight Sun which captures exactly why this book is so weird and problematic.

 

gal-dem

This isn’t a book-focused magazine but there’s a lot of content about the arts and cultural issues, most of it centred around race, sexuality and gender. The team is made up of women and non-binary women of colour, providing a much needed diversity of perspective as opposed to the mainstream media. Check out this article.

 

Tor.com

I came across this article a few years ago and it perfectly captured my feelings about a particular book that I loved. The focus of the website is fantasy and science-fiction, both in the form of reviews and original fiction.

 

The Times Literary Supplement

This is a great website if you’re looking for a more formal long-form book review, though there is a paywall. This is an article I found funny.

 

Slate

Again, Slate’s primary focus is not books but they have a great selection of book-related content, like this interview with a book critic.

 

Electric Literature

This is one of my favourite sites, with a huge range of engaging book related content. Like this article about why we need more angry female heroes.

 

Signature

I recently stumbled upon this book focused website and it seems pretty cool. Here’s an article about Jane Austen which features cool cartoons.

 

¹ Public Books

This website covers a diverse range of topics written by a range of international writers. I recently read this article, which is very intriguing.

 

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favourite Book Blogs & Websites

Leave a comment